Maryland

Property & Casualty and Life & Health

How to Get Your Maryland Insurance License

Are you interested in becoming an insurance agent? Maryland insurance law define an insurance agent or producer as anyone who – for compensation – sells, solicits, or negotiates insurance. The information below applies to Property & Casualty and Life & Health.

Maryland requires those seeking an insurance license to complete pre-licensing education (PLE) before taking the state licensing exam. The PLE course must be certified by the Maryland Insurance Administration.

Candidates must complete a 20-hour approved course for each major line of authority. For combination exams (e.g. Property/Casualty), 40 hours of PLE is required. A certificate of completion must be submitted in order to take the examination.

The lines of authority are:

A Note about Pre-Licensing Education Waivers: The Maryland Insurance Commissioner may waive the pre-licensing education requirement for an individual who:

  • Holds an approved insurance designation,
  • Has a qualifying level of work experience, or
  • Has taken equivalent college courses.

Unless a waiver has been approved by the Maryland Insurance Administration, candidates must complete a Maryland approved pre-licensing course.

IA&B can help with this PLE requirement! IA&B has partnered with ExamFX to bring you education options that speak to every type of learner. Whether you study better by reading, watching videos, or taking online practice tests, ExamFX has a solution for you and has IA&B’s stamp of approval.

For more information and to get started:
IA&B Members – 20% discount!
After completing your required pre-licensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam.

Registration & Fees: The fastest way to schedule your exam is at http://www.psiexams.com/. You can also schedule by calling 800-733-9267. There are fees for the licensing exam.

Identification: You must provide two forms of identification. One must be a valid form of government-issued identification (driver’s license, state ID, passport), which bears your signature and has your photograph. The second ID must have your signature and preprinted legal name. All identification must match the name on the Examination Registration Form and your Registration Confirmation Notice.

You will receive your score immediately following completion of the examination.

Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you can apply for an insurance license. Note that there are fees associated with the application and that you must apply for a license within 6 months of passing the state exam.
You must file an application with the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA). You can apply online (recommended) with a credit card, or use the NAIC Uniform application plus Maryland supplement. For more information, visit the MIA website.

You will be assigned a National Producer Number (NPN). This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.

For more information about insurance licensing in Maryland, go to:

Questions about Licensing Exam Preparation?

Contact the IA&B Education & Events team at 800-998-9644, option 2 or education@IABforME.com.

Interested in a Licensing Study Course Scholarship?

IA&B offers licensing study course scholarships to aspiring insurance agents in Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Delaware throughout the year – apply any time. Learn more and download an application.
5050 Ritter Road
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
191 Main Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Toll Free: 800-998-9644
Fax: 717-795-8347
Email: IAB@IABforME.com
Copyright 2021 Insurance Agents & Brokers. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Scroll to Top