Skip Navigation

Professional Training FAQs

Have a question? Below are FAQs and answers. 

Licensing

How do I become licensed in Delaware?

Once you have satisfied the pre-licensing requirements, you must pass a licensing examination. The examination will correspond to the line of authority you are applying for.

You must file a uniform application with the Insurance Commissioner. (Delaware also accepts the NAIC uniform applications). The application materials, as well as examination information, can be downloaded from the Department of Insurance’s website. For information about examinations, contact Pearson VUE (formerly Promissor) at 800-274-0455 or visit their website.

The resident (as well as non-resident) license application fee is $75. It should be sent along with the application.

The examination will not be required for:

  • A producer who is already licensed in another state for the same line(s);
  • An individual who was previously licensed for the same lines of authority in another state if his/her application is received within 90 days of the cancellation of the previous license;
  • An applicant for a title insurance license who is an attorney licensed to practice law in Delaware; or
  • An applicant for a Travel Accident & Baggage license.
How do I become licensed in Maryland?

Once you have satisfied the pre-licensing requirements, you must pass a licensing examination. The examination will correspond to the line of authority you are applying for.

You must then file an application with the Maryland Insurance Administration. You can apply online (recommended) with a credit card, or use the NAIC uniform application plus Maryland supplement.

Read more

How do I become licensed in Pennsylvania?

Individuals desiring to become insurance producers must complete 24 hours of pre-licensing education (PLE) to be eligible to take the licensing examination. Here are some important things to keep in mind:

  • You can take any approved PLE course or courses totaling 24 hours with at least three hours of ethics. IA&B has two approved courses for PLE: one for P&C and one for L&H. Both also serve as an exam preparation course.

  • PLE is a one-time requirement and is necessary for those individuals not currently licensed who are preparing to take their first licensing exam.

  • Current insurance producers: To add additional lines of authority, you only need to take and pass the exam for that line. No PLE is required to add a line of authority to an existing license. Simply print a copy of your current license (to provide as proof of your exemption) when you go to the exam center.

How does the guarantee to pass the licensing exam work?
If you register at least four weeks prior to the course, you are guaranteed to pass the exam. If you don't, you may attend another study course within one year at no charge. (Updated course material fees may apply.)
 

Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

What are my state's CE requirements?

To maintain your ability to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance, you must comply with state-specific CE and training requirements. Review our chart of requirements (and, in some cases, exemptions).

When will my CE credits be reported to my state of residence?
We will file your CE credits with the state insurance department within 10 days after you complete the course.
When will my certificate of completion be provided?

For on-demand courses, you will receive your course completion certificate immediately upon passing the course exam. The certificate will arrive in PDF via email, so please whitelist the @icohere.com email domain to ensure you receive it. 

For CIC or CISR courses, you can access your course completion certificate by visiting your PROfile account at www.scic.com. All official CIC and CISR course records are posted on your PROfile.

For IA&B CE classroom and webinar courses, you will receive your certificate via email seven days after the course or webinar.  

Please note: It is your responsibility to retain the certificate for your records or to use it in the E&O renewal process if applicable.

 

Designation Information

What are the CIC designation update requirements?

Attending any of the following will satisfy your annual update requirement:

  • Any of the seven CIC Institutes (no examination required)
  • James K. Ruble Graduate Seminars
    Formerly called Advanced Coverage Ruble Seminars, these programs are offered only to dues-paid members of the Society of CIC.* This update option is especially designed to move you beyond a mere knowledge of policies to an in-depth understanding of specific risks and exposures. You will learn the latest coverages, trends, and techniques for minimizing insurance gaps and will view developments through the eyes of a risk manager.
  • Dynamics of Selling
    A unique sales program designed exclusively for the insurance industry. This program is designed for those new to selling insurance as well as those who have been selling for years. If you are new to selling insurance, this program will help you maximize your time and effort and increase your sales. If you have been selling for years, this program is just what you need to enhance your sales techniques.

*Please contact the Society of CIC at 800-633-2165 for more information on becoming a member.

Note: When planning your annual update, please keep in mind that you may not repeat a course in the same licensing period for CE credit. Credit will be granted only once per licensing period. In Maryland, courses must not be taken within six months of each other, even if taken in two different licensing periods. If you have a question whether a course is a duplicate or whether it has changed since you took it last, please contact IA&B at 800-998-9644, option 2.

Tenured CIC
In recognition of the many milestones and achievements CICs have made in their successful careers, the CIC Board of Governors initiated the Tenured CIC status in 2011. Significant educational achievements and a record of maintaining your designation have broadened each individual’s substantial base of knowledge. Therefore, this special recognition of tenure has been granted to CICs who have met the following criteria:

  1. Held the designation for 25 or more years, or who have not held the designation for 25+ years, but are 70 years old or older:
  2. Designation is in good standing; and
  3. Membership dues are current.

These CICs will be eligible for tenured status and may maintain their designation by paying CIC dues every year and attending a qualified program every other year.  Best of all, tenured CICs retain all of the rights and privileges of the designation and of their membership in the Society.

CIC Emeritus
A status available to CICs who are ready to retire, but not ready to give up the designation for which they worked so diligently and maintained for so many years. CIC Emeritus status is maintained with annual dues payment and no annual update is required. The CIC Emeritus designation guidelines are:

  1. Candidates must be retired from the insurance or risk management industry;
  2. Years held designation plus age must equal 70 or greater, and
  3. Must be dues-paid members in good standing.

Those are the technical requirements; however, it means much more than that to be an Emeritus CIC. These professionals are committed to continuing education and to the community they have helped to build and foster. They continue to support our efforts to broaden the opportunities to learn and to succeed.

NASBA Information
The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website by clicking here.

What are the CISR designation update requirements?

To remain current, it is necessary that you update your knowledge on a regular basis; therefore, you must attend at least one continuing education session annually to maintain your CISR designation. No further examination is required.

The following will satisfy your annual update requirement for the CISR designation:

  • Attend any one of the nine CISR courses (no examination required) See information regarding CISR Elite below!
  • Attend any William T. Hold Seminar (topics change annually)
  • Attend a Dynamics of Service seminar
  • Attend any Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) Institute for one day and receive one year of update credit, or attend an entire CIC Institute for two years of update credit. If attending for only one day, you will not be eligible for continuing education credits.
  • Attend any Certified Risk Manager (CRM) course and receive two years of update credit.

Note: When planning your annual update, please keep in mind that you may not repeat a course in the same licensing period for CE credit. Credit will be granted only once per licensing period. In Maryland, courses must not be taken within six months of each other, even if taken in two different licensing periods. If you have a question whether a course is a duplicate or whether it has changed since you took it last, please contact IA&B at 800-998-9644, option 2.

What are the CPIA designation update requirements?
The CPIA designation requires a biennial update (once every two years). This updated requirement can be satisfied through participation in any one of the three core Insurance Success Seminars, participation in any one of the Advanced Insurance Success Seminars, by attending the AIMS Society's annual PRO-to-Pro Executive Retreat, or by maintaining individual or agency membership in the AIMS Society.
Are there online options to update my designation?
All of the CIC Institutes and CISR seminars are also available in an online format. Visit The National Alliance website for more information and to register for the online programs.
Can I get an extension to update my CIC or CISR designation?
Your designation update is due by the end of your birth month annually. While you should make every attempt to adhere to the requirement and the date, sometimes the unforeseen occurs, and you may need to request an extension for your update. If this becomes necessary, contact The National Alliance directly at 800-633-2165.

 

Webinar and On-Demand Information

How do live webinars work?

Live webinars are a convenient way to earn continuing education credits from anywhere with an internet connection. Simply follow along with our engaging instructors and respond when cued throughout the presentation to document your attention. There are no exams required! 

Watch for your confirmation with webinar instructions to arrive via email from IAB@IABforME.com the day prior to your scheduled webinar. You can proactively whitelist this email address to facilitate the delivery process. (Check all spam/junk files if you do not receive the email, or contact IA&B right away.)

Adobe FlashPlayer is required for viewing these webinars. Click here to download the latest version. Apple desktops and laptops can run Adobe either in a browser through Flash Player or by downloading the "add-in" when prompted prior to logging in to the webinar.

Note: Tablet and smartphone viewing is available through the Adobe Connect Mobile App. Complete instructions will accompany your webinar access link.

Can multiple people from my agency participate in the same webinar?
Yes, but CE credits will be awarded to registered attendees only. 
How do I access a live webinar?

The day prior to your scheduled webinar, IA&B will send you a link to access the webinar, as well as these instructions. 

1. Confirm that your computer has the latest version of Adobe Flash Player. To verify, or to download the latest version for free, visit https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/. Note that Flash Player may not be compatible with your smartphone or tablet. To take the webinar on your smartphone or tablet, please see item #6.

2. Log in at least 20 minutes prior to start time. This allows time for you to download the slides in PDF, as well as for any necessary troubleshooting.

3. Select Enter as a Guest, and type your full first and last name exactly as it appears on your insurance license (i.e. no initials, nicknames, etc.). Please note: To receive CE, you must be a registered attendee, and the record must include your correct name.

4. If you are sharing a computer, type the full name of each registered attendee into the chat box. (Again, only registered persons may receive CE credit.)

5. Pay close attention to your instructor's opening comments for important rules, including the attendance policy. If you fail to comply with any of the rules, you may be removed from the webinar and unable to receive CE credit.

6. To take the webinar on your smartphone or tablet, click the provided link. This will prompt you to download the Adobe Connect Mobile App. 

If you have trouble logging in or other issues concerning the live webinar, please call our administrative partner, the Florida Insurance School Continuing Education at 800-786-4303.

Note: We will file your CE credits with the state insurance department within 10 days after you complete the course.

How do I access an on-demand course?

To access an on-demand course for which you are already registered:

  • Login to your IAB account using your personal id and password via the "Account Login" feature in the upper right corner of your screen. If you don't know your ID and password, you can request if from the "Account Login" page.  
  • Once logged in, your name will appear in the upper right corner. Next to your name, click on the "My Account" drop down arrow and choose "My Homepage."
  • Under the Training section of your homepage, click on the "E-Training Center" link to access your on-demand class(es).
I'm locked out of my course. What should I do?

Live CE Webinars
If you have trouble logging in or other issues, please call our administrative partner, the Florida Insurance School Continuing Education (FISCE), at 800-786-4303.

On-Demand Seminars
When you register for an on-demand program, you have 30 days to access and complete the online course. If you do not complete the course within 30 days, you must register again for the course by calling IA&B at 800-998-9644, option 1.
 

 

General Questions

I registered to attend a class but may not be able to make it. How do I change or cancel a class?
For our classroom courses, conferences, and conventions, cancellations or transfers received more than 10 days before the start of a course are fully refundable or transferable. Licensing self-study packages are non-refundable. On-demand programs are non-transferable and non-refundable. Read more details about our terms and conditions.
How will I know if class is canceled due to inclement weather?

If we need to postpone a class, we'll notify course participants via the email address provided at registration. Or you can contact the IA&B weather hotline at 800-998-9644, ext. 500.

What is the dress code?

Our dress code is business casual, but plan accordingly as room temperatures vary.

I may need an accommodation. What should I do?

If you have any questions or need to ensure an accommodation is made, please contact our team at 800-998-9644, option 2 or education@IABforME.com. We will be happy to assist you. (Please note that our facilities are accessible for a person with a disability.)

I have questions about my course. Who can help me?

Contact our team at 800-998-9644, option 2 or education@IABforME.com

 

Still have questions? Contact our experienced education staff who can help you: 800-998-9644, option 2 or education@IABforME.com


 
  

Master CE Approval Chart

Verify how many continuing education credits (CEs) you'll receive from IA&B courses. 

View chart

Have a Question?

Check out answers to professional training FAQs.

Access FAQs